Work Group Prof. Dr. F. Temps

Temps group students win prizes for best Bachelor and Master theses in 2018

Kiel, 13 December 2018:

Congratulations to Amke Nimmrich, who won the Otto Diels-Prize of the Chemistry Department of CAU Kiel for her outstanding Master Thesis, and to Jan Degenhardt, who received a prize for his Bachelor Degree! 

Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann with Amke Nimmrich (right).   Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann with Jan Degenhardt (right).
Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann with Amke Nimmrich (left) and Jan Degenhardt.  Photos: F. Temps

Amke and Jan both carried out their thesis works in our group. Amke wrote her Master's Thesis on the "Time-Resolved Vibrational Spectroscopy of the Nucleic Acid Chromophore Purine in Excited Singlet and Triplet States". Jan investigated the femtosecond time-resolved fluorescence decay profiles of potential ESIPT switches, a central project in the Kiel CRC "Function by Switching". Both projects provided highly valuable new insight into the photophysical and photochemical dynamics of two important classes of molecules in their electronically excited states after photoexcitation.

The two prizes for the Academic Year 2017/18 were awarded to Amke and Jan at the Christmas Colloquium of the Kiel Chapter of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) by Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann, Chair of the Kiel GDCh Chapter.