Work Group Prof. Dr. F. Temps

Pascal Pessier and Hendrik Böhnke receive Otto Diels and Evonik Prizes for best Master and best PhD Theses 2019

Kiel, 12 December 2019:

Congratulations to Pascal Pessier, M.Sc., and to Dr. Hendrik Böhnke! Pascal received the Otto Diels-Prize of the Chemistry Department of CAU Kiel for one of the two best Master Theses. Hendrik received the Evonik Prize for the best Ph.D. Thesis in the Academic Year 2018/19. 

Prof. Dr. Huayna Terraschke and Pascal Pessier (right).   Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann with Jan Degenhardt (right).
Prof. Dr. Huayna Terraschke with Pascal Pessier (left) and Hendrik Böhnke (right).  Photos: L. Fitschen

Pascal completed his Master of Science in Chemistry with a Thesis entitled "Non-adiabatic alignment of polyatomic molecules in a molecular beam", with which he started a new research direction in our group. Hendrik built a femtosecond time-resolved transient vibrational absorption spectrometer, and applied his new instrument to investigations of important excited-state intramolecular and intermolecular proton transfer reactions, a central task in the Kiel CRC 677 "Function by Switching". His Ph.D. Thesis has the title "Electronic deactivation and reaction dynamics of H-bonded molecular systems studied by femtosecond time-resolved vibrational absorption spectroscopy".

The prizes were presented during the annual Christmas Colloquium of the Kiel Chapter of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) by Prof. Dr. Huayna Terraschke, Chair of the Kiel GDCh Chapter.